Temple Bowling Club was formed in 1881 by Mr John Temple, a publican, who started the Club behind his public house in nearby Camberwell Green.
After moving to a few different sites, the Club settled at its current location in 1931, nestled within a square of houses formed by Denmark Hill, Herne Hill Road, Ferndene Road and Sunset Road.
The Club House was built incorporating an indoor green upstairs, which has been extensively refurbished in recent years.
Over the years, the Club has enjoyed considerable success and has been used for numerous Surrey finals, because of the quality of its greens.
The Club's most famous matches were however played in 1934, when it hosted the EMPIRE GAMES (now known as the Commonwealth Games) in conjunction with Paddington Sports Club.
Temple Club's own Fred Biggin led the England Fours to victory and the Gold Medal.
British Pathe captured some of the action for one of its news reels.
Temple Club is the green with the low lying shrubs surrounding it and you can see people sitting on the verandah.
Please click to play the video or follow Bowling at Empire Games 1934
our apologies for the quality of the film, but it is over 80 years old!